Saturday, 23 April 2011

PFA Awards - Results

Earlier last week we highlighted the nominees in each of the Professional Football Associations player of the year categories.

The PFA has subsequently voted and at the award show last Sunday, Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere won the PFA Young Player of the Year award, while somewhat surprisingly Tottenham’s Gareth Bale won the PFA Player of the Year, ahead of my favourite Nemanja Vidic.

The PFA also voted for their team of the year, and it consisted of the following:

Edwin Van Der Sar – Goalkeeper - Manchester United – 40 years old

Bacary Sagna – Right Back - Arsenal – 28 years old
Vincent Kompany – Central Defender - Manchester City – 25 years old
Nemanja Vidic – Central Defender - Manchester United – 29 years old
Ashley Cole – Left Back - Chelsea – 30 years old

Gareth Bale – Left Midfielder – Tottenham Hotspur – 21 years old
Jack Wilshere – Centre Midfield - Arsenal – 19 years old
Nani – Winger - Manchester United – 24 years old
Samir Nasri – Attacking Midfield - Arsenal – 23 years old

Wayne Rooney – Forward - Manchester United – 25 years old
Carlos Tevez – Striker - Manchester City – 27 years old

Finally the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year 2011 award went to West Ham’s Scott Parker. If ever a player has inspired and carried a team as much as this man, then I would like to meet him. West Ham are in the midst of a relegation battle, and as of today, sit 19th in the league on 32 points.

Unfortunately for the Hammers, they are favourites to go down, as the remaining fixtures do not make for good reading. They face two tough away trips to Chelsea and Man City, and matches against fellow relegation candidates Blackburn, Wigan and Sunderland. West Ham may not be in the Premiership next season, but it’s likely that Scott Parker will be, as with this award, his hypothetical football stock has gone up.

Real Talk Football

No comments:

Post a Comment